© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

12/03/10 9:44 PM EST

Reds receive local awards at Redsfest

CINCINNATI -- As a team, the Reds took the National League Central flag during the regular season. Not surprisingly, a lot of individuals took home a whole lot of hardware in personal awards, too.

During the opening night of Redsfest on Friday, the Cincinnati chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America handed out its local awards to Reds players.

Already the National League Most Valuable Player, first baseman Joey Votto was named winner of the Ernie Lombardi Award as the club's MVP.

Starting pitcher Bronson Arroyo won the Johnny Vander Meer Award as the Most Outstanding Pitcher, and third baseman Scott Rolen was the recipient of the Joe Nuxhall Good Guy Award.

On the development side of the organization, catcher Devin Mesoraco was the winner of the Chief Bender Award as the Reds' Minor League Player of the Year. Outfielder Dave Sappelt was the Minor League Hitter of the Year. Donnie Joseph was the Minor League Pitcher of the Year. And the Minor League Community Service Award went to pitcher Jeremy Horst.

It was of no great surprise that Votto was deservedly named for the club's highest local award. Votto won the NL MVP in a landslide over Albert Pujols and Carlos Gonzalez by taking 31 of a possible 32 first-place votes. It prevented Pujols from winning his third straight NL MVP and fourth overall.

It was the 12th time a Reds player won the NL MVP and the first time since Barry Larkin in 1995. Votto finished among the top three in 11 offensive statistical categories and was first in important stats like slugging percentage (.600), on-base percentage (.424) and, of course, on-base plus slugging percentage (1.024).

He was second in the NL with a .324 average and was third in both home runs, with 37, and RBIs, with 113 -- all career highs. He was tied for fourth with 106 runs scored, was sixth with 177 hits and fifth with 91 walks. His .349 average on the road led the NL, and he was second, just ahead of Gonzalez and Pujols, with a .369 average with runners in scoring position.

During the World Series, Votto was also named the NL winner of the Hank Aaron Award as the league's most outstanding offensive performer.

The Reds committed the fewest errors in the NL this season (72) and three players were recognized with NL Gold Glove Awards as a result -- Arroyo, Rolen and second baseman Brandon Phillips.

It was his Rolen's eighth Gold Glove, Phillips' second and Arroyo's first.

In 33 starts this season, Arroyo was a career-best 17-10 with a 3.88 ERA. He reached the 200 innings plateau for his sixth consecutive season. It was the second time in four years that Arroyo was named the Reds' most outstanding pitcher.

After some struggles since being a first-round Draft pick in 2007, Mesoraco put it together this season and earned two promotions. He batted a combined .302 with 26 homers, 75 RBIs and a .377 on-base percentage combined at Class A Lynchburg, Double-A Carolina and Triple-A Louisville.

In 113 games with the same three stops as Mesoraco, Sappelt batted .342 with 10 homers, 74 RBIs and 25 steals. Joseph, a left-handed reliever, was 3-5 with 24 saves at Class A Dayton, Lynchburg and Carolina.

The awards presentation also included the person that oversees the entire baseball operation. Reds general manager Walt Jocketty was saluted for winning The Sporting News' Executive of the Year award.

National Awards
MVP Roberto Clemente Award ROY
Ernie Lombardi 1938 Pete Rose 1976 Frank Robinson 1956
Bucky Walters 1939 Barry Larkin 1993 Pete Rose 1963
Frank McCormick 1940 Tommy Helms 1966
Frank Robinson 1961 Johnny Bench 1968
Johnny Bench 1970 Pat Zachry 1976
Johnny Bench 1972 Chris Sabo 1988
Pete Rose 1973 Scott Williamson 1999
Joe Morgan 1975
Joe Morgan 1976
George Foster 1977
Barry Larkin 1995
Joey Votto 2010
Manager of Year Rawlings Gold Glove Silver Slugger
Jack McKeon 1999 Roy McMillan 1957 George Foster 1981
Frank Robinson 1958 Dave Concepcion 1981
Roy McMillan 1958 Dave Concepcion 1982
Harvey Haddix 1958 Dave Parker 1985
Roy McMillan 1959 Dave Parker 1986
Vada Pinson 1961 Eric Davis 1987
Johnny Edwards 1963 Barry Larkin 1988
Johnny Edwards 1964 Eric Davis 1989
Leo Cardenas 1965 Barry Larkin 1989
Johnny Bench 1968 Barry Larkin 1990
Pete Rose 1969 Barry Larkin 1991
Johnny Bench 1969 Barry Larkin 1992
Johnny Bench 1970 Barry Larkin 1995
Pete Rose 1970 Barry Larkin 1996
Tommy Helms 1970 Barry Larkin 1998
Johnny Bench 1971 Barry Larkin 1999
Tommy Helms 1971 Felipe Lopez 2005
Johnny Bench 1972
Johnny Bench 1973
Joe Morgan 1973
Johnny Bench 1974
Dave Concepcion 1974
Joe Morgan 1974
Cesar Geronimo 1974
Johnny Bench 1975
Dave Concepcion 1975
Joe Morgan 1975
Cesar Geronimo 1975
Johnny Bench 1976
Dave Concepcion 1976
Joe Morgan 1976
Cesar Geronimo 1976
Johnny Bench 1977
Dave Concepcion 1977
Joe Morgan 1977
Cesar Geronimo 1977
Dave Concepcion 1979
Eric Davis 1987
Eric Davis 1988
Eric Davis 1989
Barry Larkin 1994
Barry Larkin 1995
Barry Larkin 1996
Bret Boone 1998
Pokey Reese 1999
Pokey Reese 2000
Brandon Phillips 2008
Bronson Arroyo 2010
Brandon Phillips 2010
Scott Rolen 2010
Local Awards
Most Valuable Player Outstanding Pitcher Joe Nuxhall Good Guy Award
Wally Post, OF 1955 Wayne Granger 1969 Todd Benzinger 1991
Roy McMillan, SS 1956 Jim Merritt 1970 Jose Rijo 1992
Don Hoak, 3B 1957 Don Gullett 1971 Tim Belcher 1993
Johnny Temple, 2B 1958 Clay Carroll 1972 Kevin Mitchell 1994
Frank Robinson, 1B 1959 Jack Billingham 1973 Bret Boone 1995
Eddie Kasko, 3B 1960 Don Gullett 1974 Jeff Brantley 1996
Frank Robinson, 1B 1961 Don Gullett 1975 Joe Oliver 1997
Frank Robinson, 1B 1962 1976 Eddie Taubensee 1998
Jim Maloney, P 1963 1977 Sean Casey 1999
Frank Robinson, 1B 1964 Doug Bair 1978 Steve Parris 2000
Deron Johnson, 3B 1965 Tom Hume 1979 Dmitri Young 2001
Pete Rose, 2B 1966 Mario Soto 1980 Jose Rijo 2002
Tony Perez, 3B 1967 Tom Seaver 1981 Austin Kearns 2003
Pete Rose, OF 1968 Mario Soto 1982 Sean Casey 2004
Pete Rose, OF 1969 Mario Soto 1983 Ken Griffey Jr. 2005
Johnny Bench, C 1970 Mario Soto 1984 Bronson Arroyo 2006
Lee May, 1B 1971 Tom Browning 1985 Scott Hatteberg 2007
Johnny Bench, C 1972 John Franco 1986 Aaron Harang 2008
Pete Rose, OF 1973 John Franco 1987 Bronson Arroyo 2009
Joe Morgan, 2B 1974 Danny Jackson 1988 Scott Rolen 2010
Joe Morgan, 2B 1975 Tom Browning 1989
Joe Morgan, 2B 1976 Jose Rijo 1990
George Foster, OF 1977 Jose Rijo 1991
Pete Rose, 3B 1978 Jose Rijo 1992
Ray Knight, 3B 1979 Jose Rijo 1993
Ken Griffey, OF 1980 Jeff Brantley 1994
Dave Concepcion, SS 1981 Pete Schourek 1995
Mario Soto, P 1982 Jeff Brantley 1996
Mario Soto, P 1983 Jeff Shaw 1997
Dave Parker, OF 1984 Pete Harnisch 1998
Dave Parker, OF 1985 Pete Harnisch 1999
Dave Parker, OF 1986 Danny Graves 2000
Eric Davis, OF 1987 Scott Sullivan 2001
Danny Jackson, P 1988 Jimmy Haynes 2002
Eric Davis, OF 1989 Chris Reitsma 2003
Barry Larkin, SS 1990 Paul Wilson 2004
Barry Larkin, SS 1991 Aaron Harang 2005
Bip Roberts, INF 1992 Bronson Arroyo 2006
Joe Oliver, C 1993 Aaron Harang 2007
Hal Morris, 1B 1994 Edinson Volquez 2008
Barry Larkin, SS 1995 Bronson Arroyo 2009
Barry Larkin, SS 1996 Bronson Arroyo 2010
Willie Greene, 3B 1997
Bret Boone, 2B 1998
Greg Vaughn, OF 1999
Danny Graves, P 2000
Dmitri Young, OF 2001
Aaron Boone, 3B 2002
Jose Guillen, OF 2003
Sean Casey, 1B 2004
Ken Griffey Jr., CF 2005
Rich Aurilia, INF 2006
Brandon Phillips, 2B 2007
Joey Votto, 1B 2008
Brandon Phillips, 2B 2009
Joey Votto, 1B 2010

Mark Sheldon is a reporter for MLB.com Read his blog, Mark My Word and follow him on Twitter @m_sheldon. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.