PHILADELPHIA -- Jimmy Rollins will rejoin the Phillies Thursday in St. Louis after missing the last three games following the birth of his first child.

Rollins sat out Monday's game after his wife, Johari, gave birth to their daughter, Camryn Drew Rollins, late Sunday night. On Tuesday, the Phillies placed Rollins on Major League Baseball's paternity leave list, which allows a player to be away from the club for 24 to 72 hours. It also gave them the chance to promote catcher Erik Kratz from Triple-A Lehigh Valley to fill Rollins' spot.

The Phillies optioned Kratz, who hit a pinch-hit home run on Tuesday, back to Lehigh Valley following Wednesday's 4-1 win against the Nationals.

Rollins is the fourth Phillies player to be placed on paternity leave since the rule was put in place last year. Last season, Ross Gload missed two games in Pittsburgh (June 4-5), Ryan Madson missed two games in San Francisco (Aug. 4-5), and Kyle Kendrick missed two games in Florida (Sept. 3-4).

The Phillies' shortstop is hitting .229 with one home run and seven RBIs in 42 games this season.

Ruiz OK after getting dinged by foul ball

PHILADELPHIA -- Catcher Carlos Ruiz suffered a right wrist contusion in Wednesday's 4-1 win against the Nationals, but X-rays taken afterward were negative. Ruiz, who played well batting in the cleanup spot for the first time in his career on Wednesday, is listed as day to day.

The injury occurred in the eighth inning, when Nationals second baseman Danny Espinosa's foul ball hit Ruiz's wrist.

"It's a little bit sore, but it's normal," Ruiz said. "I think I can play [Thursday]."

Ruiz, the Phillies' hottest hitter this season, went 3-for-4 with a double. He entered the game leading all National League catchers with seven home runs, 29 RBIs and 71 total bases. His average rose to .357 on Wednesday.

"It was fun," Ruiz said. "I had a great time [Wednesday]. I told myself to be relaxed and have good at-bats. It was exciting."

Ruiz not sure what caused quick ejection

PHILADELPHIA -- So what exactly earned Carlos Ruiz an ejection Tuesday?

Persistence, maybe.

Home-plate umpire Gary Cederstrom ejected Ruiz in the top of the third inning of a 5-2 loss to the Nationals at Citizens Bank Park. Ruiz questioned an 0-1 pitch to Nationals second baseman Danny Espinosa. Cederstrom called the pitch a ball, but Ruiz thought it was a strike.

"That's a good pitch," Ruiz said to Cederstrom.

"No, that's a ball," the umpire apparently shouted back.

"That's a good pitch," Ruiz repeated, turning his head to look at Cederstrom.

Ejected.

Cederstrom declined comment to reporters Tuesday, referring questions to the Commissioner's Office. The league's understanding is that Cederstrom warned Ruiz about arguing balls and strikes, but when Ruiz kept arguing the call, he got tossed.

Ruiz said he uttered no obscenities.

"I didn't say anything bad," he said. "I didn't say anything bad. That's what surprised me. A lot of the umpires will say, 'You know what, Ruiz? I think you were right.' Or they will say, 'I've got that pitch inside.' OK."

Not this time.